“Godforsaken” by Dinesh D’Souza – Solid book with a couple of holes still

Image

I recently read “Godforsaken,” by Dinesh D’Souza and thoroughly enjoyed it.  It has been a while since I’ve read an apologetic book and found that I really liked being challenged to think logically about my faith.

D’Souza offers this book as his explanation of why bad things happen to good people.  He addresses how a perfectly good God who is also infinitely powerful could allow evil and suffering in the world.  He seems to do so in a clear, succinct, and convincing manner.  However, I will say that he left a couple of holes in his arguments.

As I read the book, I found myself really believing his arguments, but also thinking through some of my own issues with the problems he addresses.  While I enjoyed the basic concept that it is impossible to have a perfect creation without the capacity for evil that also loves God.  D’Souza says it’s basically like asking God to create a 3-sided square.  It would no longer be a square, just as love would no longer be love if evil were not also present.  Because of that, man has the opportunity to choose evil and some people do.

I had a difficult time, however, going along with his argument that we need to re-define “omnipotence.”  I think that God is able to do things that to us do seem impossible, therefore, his definition of the power/resources to do anything that is possible seems a little limiting.

While I haven’t subjected this book to the “atheist test,” I believe that it could be a powerful help to those dealing with doubt.  Overall, I highly recommend the book, more as a way to get your mind thinking through these things for yourself than just for the arguments for their own sake.

Please note that I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers for free in exchange for this unbiased review.

If you would like to check out my blog on life and ministry, check out www.adoptedheir.com

Leave a Reply

